Home Curriculum ICT & Computing KS4 Course Specification
KS4 Course Specification

The ICT department currently offers only a single option at Key Stage 4: students will follow the Cambridge Nationals in Creative iMedia at Level 1 / 2. This course provides students with an opportunity to demonstrate their applied skills by producing solutions for a wide range of problems. Students will also undergo an external written examination (worth 25% of the final grade) which covers the more technical aspects of computing, computer technology and Pre-Production Skills.

Learning Pathways

OCR offers a flexible and responsive range of general and vocational ICT qualifications that allow suitable progression routes for all types of learners.
Centres are able to use these qualifications to create pathways that provide learners with the underpinning skills and knowledge that will enable them to choose the most appropriate progression routes for their particular needs (further study, Further Education (FE) or employment).
Progression from OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Award / Certificate / Diploma in ICT to GCSE qualifications:

  • ICT
  • Computing
  • Business and Communication Systems
  • Manufacturing
  • Art and Design
  • Media Studies
  • Design and Technology

For learners who want to progress to Level 3 qualifications they have the choice of various GCE qualifications which will further develop areas of their learning from Level 1/2.

  • ICT
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology

Learners can progress from OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Award / Certificate / Diploma in ICT to other vocational qualifications:

  • IT User Skills, IT Professional and IT Practitioner suite of qualifications (Levels 1-4)
  • Creative iMedia suite of qualifications (Levels 1-3)